REVIEW and RELEASE DAY!! The Reckless Engineer by Jac Wright

RecklessEngineerCoverThis book sooooo brings to mind the old saying:

“Oh! what a tangled web we weave
When first we practice to deceive!”

-Walter Scott’s Marmion

Jac Wright’s poetic background comes through in this book.  This book truly weaves the story around you until you can’t stop until you have all the answers!  First I want to draw you in with the description below…….

Book Description:

Jack Connor’s lives an idyllic life by the Portsmouth seaside married to Caitlin McAllen, a stunning billionaire heiress, and working at his two jobs as the Head of Radar Engineering of Marine Electronics and as the Director of Engineering of McAllen BlackGold, his powerful father-in-law Douglas McAllen’s extreme engineering company in Oil & Gas. He loves his two sons from his first marriage and is amicably divorced from his beautiful first wife Marianne Connor. Their delicately balanced lives are shattered when sexy Michelle Williams, with whom Jack is having a secret affair and who is pregnant with his child, is found dead and Jack is arrested on suspicion for the murder.

Jeremy Stone brings London’s top defence attorney, Harry Stavers, to handle his best friend’s defence.

Who is the bald man with the tattoo of a skull seen entering the victim’s house? Who is “KC” who Caitlin makes secret calls to from an untraceable mobile? Has powerful Douglas McAllen already killed his daughter’s first partner and is he capable of killing again? Is Caitlin’s brother Ronnie McAllen’s power struggle with Jack for the control of McAllen Industries so intense that he is prepared to kill and frame his brother-in-law? Is the divorce from Jack’s first wife as amicable on her part as they believe it to be? Are his sons prepared to kill for their vast inheritance? Who are the ghosts from Caitlin’s past in Aberdeen, Scotland haunting the marriage? What is the involvement of Jack’s manager at Marine Electronics?

The cast of characters is made even more colorful by the supporting entourage: the big Scott and his gang, Hosé and Heineken, who carry out Douglas McAllen’s “troubleshooting;” McAllens’ bumbling solicitors McKinley and Magnus Laird; Caitlin McAllen’s handymen, Cossack and Levent; and Jeremy’s sidekick, the gay black actor working in the London West End.

 While Jack is charged and his murder trial proceeds in the Crown Court under barrister Harry Stavers’ expert care, Jeremy runs a race against time to find the real killer and save his friend’s life, if he is in fact innocent, in a tense tale of love, power, and ambition.

It is easy for me to see that I will be a Jac Wright fan for life.  This book had so many twists and turns!  Just when you think you have the culprit figured out, something else comes to light that damns a different person.  The author gives you some background on each character, but just enough.  Jac Wright has a knack for dropping clues in your lap at just the right moment and really keeping you on the edge of your seat.

Another thing I loved about this story was how believable it was.  It seemed like real people that ended up in some ugly situations.  I don’t think we realize how “suspicious” every day things can be when taken in the wrong context.  Jeremy’s dialogue to himself while some people were being interviewed was so entertaining and I really enjoyed his personality.  He is someone you would like to know in real life.

Also, yes we had the rich people that always have everything in order, but they worked for it.  They weren’t lounging around all day spending money on anything and everything, they were working hard and putting in a lot of hours to keep the company’s running smoothly.

Overall, this was a GREAT mystery/suspense that will keep those pages turning as fast as you can read!!  Grab your copy today!!

Buy this book!!

Amazon / Goodreads

More about the author Jac Wright:

Jac Wright is a published poet, a published author, and an electronics engineer educated at Stanford, University College London, and Cambridge who lives and works in England. Jac studied English literature from an early age of three, developing an intense love for poetry, drama, and writing in Speech & Drama classes taken every Saturday for fourteen years, and in subsequent creative writing classes taken during the university years. A published poet, Jac’s first passion was for literary fiction and poetry writing as well as for the dramatic arts. You will find these influences in the poetic imagery and prose, as well as the in the dramatic scene setting and deep character creation in his writing.

These passions – for poetry, drama, literary fiction, and electronic engineering – have been combined to create the first book in the literary suspense series, The Reckless Engineer. There are millions of professionals in high-tech corporate environments who work in thousands of cities in the US, the UK, and the world such as engineers, technicians, technical managers, investment bankers, and corporate lawyers. High drama, power struggles, and human interest stories play out in the arena every day. Yet there are hardly any books that tell their stories; there are not many books that they can identify with. Jac feels compelled to tell their stories in The Reckless Engineer series.

Jac also writes the literary short fiction series, Summerset Tales, in which Wright explores characters struggling against their passions and social circumstances in the semi-fictional region of contemporary England called Summerset, partly the region that Thomas Hardy called Wessex. Some of the tales have an added element of suspense. The collection is published serially in the tradition of Charles Dickens’ The Pickwick Papers and Thomas Hardy’s Wessex Tales. The first tale, The Closet, accompanies the first title in the author’s full-length book, The Reckless Engineer.

Connect with Jac Wright!

Website / BlogFacebook / Twitter / Goodreads / Amazon Author Page

Tell Me How You Really Feel..... :-)